Hi IE6 user, you're viewing a text-only version of the BAC site. Upgrade to a free browser like Google Chrome to get the full experience.

    Alumni Awards

    Selfless Labor Beehive

    Selfless Labor Beehive

    Photo by: Liz Linder Photography

    The Alumni Association recognizes alumni achievement through The Distinguished Alumni in Service Award, The Distinguished Alumni in Practice Awards in Architecture and Interior Design, and The Selfless Labor Award. Do you know a BAC alum who deserves to be recognized? Now is your chance to Submit a Nomination.


    The Distinguished Alumni in Service Award

    The Distinguished Alumni in Service Award is given to BAC alumni who have made significant contributions to the BAC, its educational objectives, and time-honored traditions. These individuals serve the community through public service while advancing the College's mission. The Distinguished Alumni in Service Award is presented during Commencement.

    Past recipients include:

    2013 Fay DeAvignon '78
    2012 Stephen Rich '71, AIA, PE, LEED GA
    2011 Felice Silverman '92, IIDA
    2009 Leo McCormack '70, AIA, NCARB
    2008 Carole Wedge '90, '08 (Hon.), FAIA, LEED AP
    2007 Gabriel Petino ‘94, AIA
    2006 Holly B. Cratsley '84, AIA
    2004 Domenic DiGiorgio '71, RA
    2003 Bernie Goba '69, '07 (Hon.),  AIA, NCARB
    2002 Elisabeth Carr-Jones ‘93


    The Distinguished Alumni in Practice Awards in Architecture and Interior Design

    These two awards recognize and acknowledge the contributions alumni have made to the design community through the Practice of both Architecture and Interior Design while promoting and improving the design professions through their leadership. It is awarded during the Alumni Reception at the Build Boston convention in November.

    Past recipients include:

    2013 Architecture Anthony Frausto-Robledo '96, AIA, LEED AP
    2012 Architecture Jim Barrett '87, AIA, LEED
    2011 Architecture Rudolph Bedar '51, AIA Emeritus
    2010 Architecture Stephen Sousa '92 / Interior Design Christina Oliver '90, ASID
    2009 Architecture Stephen E. Tise '70, AIA / Interior Design Corky Binggeli '08, ASID
    2008 Architecture Allen Lieb '70, AIA, IIDA, CSI / Interior Design Taniya Nayak '03
    2007 Architecture Robert J. Verrier, FAIA, NCARB /Interior Design Deborah Drew '05, NCIDQ
    2004 Mark Goldman '89
    2006 Laura Fitch '91, AIA, LEED
    2005 Paul Donnelly '78, FAIA,PE, LEED AP

    The Selfless Labor Award

    The Selfless Labor Award is given to an individual who exemplifies the spirit of volunteerism, over an extended period of time, advancing the school's mission. Individuals embody the spirit and ideals of the institution. Service must be in a volunteer capacity. The Award is named after the Selfless Labor sculpture, pictured above, which was created by the late Dean Arcangelo Cascieri and depicts a series of worker bees working on behalf of the colony around a beehive. It is awarded during the spring Cascieri Lectureship in the Humanities reception. 

    Past recipients include:

    2013 Charles Redmon '08 (Hon.), FAIA
    2012 Holly Cratsley '84, AIA
    2011 Bernie Goba '69, '07 (Hon.),  AIA, NCARB
    2010 Peter Steffian '07 (Hon.), FAIA, NCARB
    2009 Don Brown '06 (Hon.), AIA Emeritus
    2008 Bob Sturgis, FAIA Emeritus
    2007 H. Morse Payne '13 (Hon.), FAIA
    2006 Hugh Shepley '08 (Hon.), FAIA Emeritus