BAC Instructor Honored with 2014 AIA Young Architects Award

Daniel Overbey, AIA, Sustainable Design Institute Instructor Noted for Contribution to the Profession

Daniel Overbey; Browning Day Mullins Dierdorf Architects; Boston Architectural College Instructor honored with 2014 AIA Young Architects Award

Photo Courtesy Browning Day Mullins Dierdorf Architects

The Boston Architectural College is pleased to announce that Sustainable Design Instructor Daniel Overbey, AIA, director of sustainable design practices at Browning Day Mullins Dierdorf Architects in Indianapolis, was honored with a 2014 Young Architects Award by the American Institute of Architects (AIA). The Young Architects Award is given to individuals who have shown exceptional leadership and made significant contributions to the profession in an early stage of their architectural career.

Daniel is passionate about making a sustainable difference in our world, and he inspires his clients, colleagues, and future architects to do the same. His research-based background in building science and environmental systems has made him an effective design leader, educator, and policy shaper.

As director of sustainable design practices at Browning Day Mullins Dierdorf Architects in Indianapolis, Daniel is devoted to leveraging evidence-based methods to improve architecture practice, shape policy, and help project teams and clients make informed design decisions. For two years, he has served as a critic/advisor for the Solar Decathlon team from Ball State University and the University of Louisville. He also volunteers with residents of the Near East district of Indianapolis to implement a net-zero community plan.

He is a committed and enthusiastic volunteer at the local, state, and national levels of the AIA and USGBC. His work on numerous code review committees of the Indiana Department of Homeland Security resulted in policy changes that have shifted the course of design practice in Indiana. He is a member of the board of directors of both AIA Indianapolis and USGBC Indiana and regularly lobbies state and national legislators on behalf of AIA issues and policies that support green building practices, mass transit, and high-performance schools.

Daniel is an adjunct faculty member at Ball State University, where he teaches environmental systems to second- and third-year architecture students. He also teaches a graduate-level building science course at The Boston Architectural College's Sustainable Design Institute. He regularly presents workshops on energy modeling in the design process to students and others in a variety of national forums. Each scholar is selected based on research, educational background, publishing record, teaching record, competitiveness of field of study, and uniqueness of field of study.

The complete list of 2014 recipients of the AIA Young Architects Award includes:

  • Illya Azaroff, AIA, +LAB Architects
  • Thomas Bradley Benjamin, AIA, Radium Architecture
  • Joshua Flowers, AIA, Hnedak Bobo Group
  • Wyatt Frantom, AIA, Gensler
  • Nathan Kalaher, AIA, PLaN Architecture
  • Evelyn M. Lee, AIA, MKThink
  • Timothy W. Maddox, AIA, deMx architecture
  • Daniel Overbey, AIA, Browning Day Mullins Dierdorf Architects
  • Mark Pasnik, AIA, over,under; Pinkcomma Gallery; Wentworth Institute of Technology
  • Michael P. Pfeffer, AIA, Skidmore, Owings and Merrill LLP
  • Jason Dale Pierce, AIA, HOK
  • Mark A. Schwamel, AIA, Gensler
  • Matt Slagle, AIA, TowerPinkster Architects & Engineers
  • Christian B. Sottile, AIA, Sottile & Sottile, Urban Design and Civic Architecture; Savannah College of Art and Design
  • Lorena Toffer, AIA, Corgan Associates
  • Brian Vitale, AIA, Gensler
  • Karen E. Williams, AIA, HKS Architects Inc.
  • Jeffrey M. Yrazabal, AIA, SRG Partnership