William Christopher Jr.

William Christopher Jr.

William Christopher Jr. was born in Boston and is a long time resident of the Dorchester area. Mr. Christopher is married with six children and known to family and friends by the nickname "Buddy."

Commissioner Christopher lived in Bronx, NY from the 4th–9th grade. At the age of 14, while attending grammar school in New York, an English teacher gave him a book on the life of Antoino Gaudi, a Spanish architect. This is the point when he started taking mechanical drafting, and at 15 he knew he wanted to become an architect.

Returning to Boston, he graduated from South Boston High School and received his bachelor's degree in architecture from The Boston Architectural Center and attended a Career Discovery Program at the Harvard Graduate School of Design. He is a registered architect in the states of Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and New Hampshire. He is also a national key member of National Council of Architectural Registration Board (NCARB).

William has over 30 years of experience in architectural design. His work in the past includes the McLaughlin Center for the Boys and Girls Club of Dorchester, City of Boston Uphams Corner Municipal Building, Church of Boston at 1299 Massachusetts Ave, and the League School in Walpole, MA. He has also worked on projects located throughout the North East.

William is a former member of the International Code Council, the Southern Building Code Congress International, and former president of the Columbia/Savin Hill Civic Association.

William Christopher Jr. worked for the City of Boston in the 1990s as an assistant director for architecture and engineering in the Department of Neighborhood Development. He is also one of the founders of Roche-Christopher Architecture LLC, located in Dorchester, MA, and currently is the Commissioner of Boston Inspectional Services Department.